Head Title

Electromagnetic Source Imaging in the Presurgical Evaluation of Children with Drug Resistant Epilepsy 

This webinar presented by Dr. Christos Papadelis will discuss, “Non-invasive diagnostic tools, such as magnetoencephalography (MEG) and high-density electroencephalography (HD-EEG), are becoming of high importance in the presurgical evaluation of patients with drug resistant epilepsy (DRE). These tools have different sensitivity profiles for detecting and localizing epileptiform foci. MEG has higher spatial resolution for sources that are tangential to the plane of the cortical surface, but it is almost blind to radially oriented sources and sources from deep brain areas. Contrarily, HD-EEG can detect and localize both radially oriented as well as tangentially oriented sources. Despite their complementary properties, MEG and HD-EEG are rarely recorded simultaneously or analyzed into a combined source imaging solution. In this talk, Dr. Papadelis will talk about the accuracy and clinical utility of combined electromagnetic source imaging in localizing interictal epileptiform discharges and predict surgical outcome in children with DRE.”

This free webinar will be on October 20, 2022 at 4:00pm - 5:00pm BST (11:00am-12:00pm EDT | 10:00am – 11:00am CDT).

*MEGIN does not endorse any applications or treatments mentioned at this event. Agenda may be subject to change.